Corporate Directory

Murray River Council

Contact: Malcom France
Address PO Box 21 Mathoura NSW 2710 Australia Phone: 03 5884 3400 Work Fax: 03 5884 3417 Website:


The Murray Shire is located in the southern Riverina of NSW, 800kms from Sydney and 205kms from Melbourne. Murray Shire has an area of 4,328km2 and a population of 6,500 (1998, estimated residential population, ABS). The main settlements within the Shire are Moama (pop – 3,545) and Mathoura (pop-659). Other settlements include Bunnaloo and Womboota; each with a population of under 200.

Moama is situated on the Murray River with its twin Victorian town Echuca (pop – 11,000), together the towns form a strong regional centre.

The majestic Murray River forms the southern border of the Murray Shire for three hundred (300) kilometres. The shire is almost totally surrounded by the Murray River and its tributaries. The Edward River system to the north east and the Wakool River to the north west are important features. The Gulpa Creek is another important waterway which leaves the Murray and flows past Mathoura.

Within Murray Shire Council is its water and sewer business which administers systems in Moama, Mathoura, Bunaloo and Womboota. The Murray Shire Council welcomes visitors and encourages you to come and spend some time with us.

Roadmap Satellite Connections Business Directory | Leaflet Connections Business Directory | Leaflet

PO Box 21 Mathoura NSW 2710 Australia


Click here to get your
business listed in the
Corporate Members Directory