HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
2010 Conference


Bendigo Exhibition Centre, Prince of Wales Showgrounds, Holmes Road, Bendigo

Victorian Conference Photo Gallery

To visit the photo gallery for the Vic Conference please click on the image below [external site].


PRELIMINARY CONFERENCE PROGRAM - please note program subject to change

pdfDOWNLOAD Delegate Registration Form (pdf 772Kb). 


Courtesy buses will be provided for the two dinners only.  Click here to view the list of hotels on the bus route.

Tuesday 31 August, 2010

  Conference venue closed for exhibition set up
12.00 pm Booths and Registration Desk Open for Trade Exhibitors
4.00 pm Registration Desk Open for Delegates
5.00 pm  Welcome Reception- Sponsored by NHP | Rockwell Automation
6.30 pm Venue closed
Wednesday 1 September, 2010
8.00 am Registration Desk Open
9.00 am

Trade Exhibition Open

Conference Opening: Mr Jeff Haydon - General Manager Water and Waste Water Operations, Central Highlands Water

Opening Address: Ms Jan Bowman – Assistant Director - Environmental Health, DOH Vic

Keynote Address: Mr Jon Dee, (Founder of “Do Something” and 2010
NSW Australian of the Year) – “Go Tap Campaign”

Trade Display Opening: Ms Cynthia Lim, WIOA Operations Manager

10.20 am Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Morning Tea
11.20 am

Technical Paper Session 1

WIOA Report: Ms Cynthia Lim – (WIOA Operations Manager)

Mr Maximillian Hadzidimitriou – (Yarra Valley Water)

- “Chlorine Portable Dosing Unit”

Mr Wayne Shaw - (Gippsland Water)

- “Replacing Filter Media, “Dust Free” and with Significantly Reduced OH&S Risks”

Ms Kathy Northcott - (Veolia Water Australia)

- “8 Years of Membrane Operations at Bendigo: Maintenance, Monitoring and Mapping”

12.30 pm Lunch
1.30 pm

Technical Paper Session 2

Mr Steve Mowat & Ms Kris Hunter – (East Gippsland Water)

- “Proactive Sewer Maintenance Program”

Mr Gary Grogan – (‘us’ – Utility Services)

- “Improvement around Wet Wells”

Mr Alan Tonks – (Goulburn Valley Water)

- “Selecting Sewer Mains for an Annual CCTV Inspection Program”

2.30 pm Afternoon tea, View Trade Exhibition & Competition
4.00 pm

Technical Paper Session 3

Mr Peter Glass – (SPX Process Equipment)

- “New ‘Clean-edge’ Impeller Design Overcomes Ragging in Wastewater Bioreactors”

Mr Maarten De Beurs – (Yarra Valley Water)

– “Yarra Valley Water’s Nitrogen Management Strategy"

Mr Adam Glasson – (Goulburn Valley Water)

- “The Goulburn Valley Water Product Manual”

5:00 pm End Paper Sessions - Day 1
6.30 pm Pre Dinner Savouries & Drinks
7.30 pm

Meet the Trade Dinner Sponsored by Acromet Australia

• Presentation of the 2010 Kwatye Prize, Sponsored by Thermo Fisher Scientific

Entertainment by Bizarre Gazzard

10.30 pm End Day One

Thursday 2 September, 2010

8.30 am Registration Desk Open
8.45 am

Trade Exhibition Open

9.00 am

Technical Paper Session 4

Mr Andrew Lanchbery - (Yabbie Pond)

-" Experiences of Full Scale Tracer Testing in a Chlorine Contact Tank for determining Baffling Factors"

Mr John Day – (Goulburn Valley Water)

- “How to set up a Reliability Centered Maintenance Program to Support Asset Maintenance Systems”

Mr Steven Nash - (Goulburn Valley Water)

- “The Operators Role in Managing Sewer Network Odours”

10.20 am Trade Display Inspections, Competition plus morning tea
11.20 am

Technical Paper Session 5

Mr Tim Moulton – (Yarra Valley Water)

- “Planning & Operational Change Control of a Major Water System Operation”

Mr Jason Mullins – (North East Water )

- “DBO! – An “In-House” Success at Eskdale”

Mr David Reyne - (Central Highlands Water)

- “Maryborough Water Treatment Plant Filter Upgrade”

12.20 pm Lunch
1.10 pm

Poster Paper Session

Operator Poster Papers Submitted for Judging

  • “Ozone Generator Upgrade At Kyneton WTP”
    Mr Broc Mulcair – Veolia Water
  • “Hydraulic Gatic Lifter Tool”

Mr Ian Syer - ‘Us’ – Utility Services

  • “PAC Dosing Improvements At Wodonga WTP”

Mr Jim McDougall - North East Water

  • “Manhole Refurbishment Project”

Mr Steve Mowat - East Gippsland Water

  • “Investigation Into The Effectiveness Of A Solar-Powered Circulation Unit”
    Mr Tony McKean - East Gippsland Water
  • “GVW Online Instrumentation Upgrade Project”

Mr Anthony Deith - Goulburn Valley Water

  • “Plant # 3 Filter Failure At Shepparton"

            Mr Chris Spokes - Goulburn Valley Water

  • “Winneke’s Red Sand – A Lesson In The Importance Of A Comprehensive Contract Specification”
    Mr Nicholas Stuart - Melbourne Water
  • “Broken River Odour Control Unit - Success with a Simple System”

Mr Brendan Vanderdonk - Goulburn Valley Water

Open Poster Papers

  • “The Application Of Ultrasound In Controlling Large Scale Blue-Green Algae Bloom”

Ing. Ms Lisa Brand – LG Sound

2.00 pm

Technical Paper Session 6: Session Dedicated To Training Issues

Ms Catherine Huf – (Wannon Water)

- “Operator Training By Different Learning Styles”

Mr Wayne Morling – (Government Skills Australia)

- “Vocational Education And Training In The Water Industry 2010”Presentation of Presentation of Certificates in Water Industry Operations

Open Discussion Forum / Q&A on Training Issues

3.15 pm Trade Display Inspections, Competition plus Afternoon tea
4.00 pm

Technical Paper Session 7

Mr Tony McKean – (East Gippsland Water)

- “Novel Application Of A Lamella Clarifier For Improved Primary Treatment Of
Domestic Wastewater”

Best Paper Qld - Mr Neville L’Oste-Brown – (Fitzroy River Water)

- “Rehabilitation of Sewers for the Future - Risk and Asset Management of your
Sewer Network”

Mr David Voce – (Melbourne Water)

- “Early Operator Involvement Leads to a Successful Project”

5:00 pm Close of Paper Sessions
6.30 pm Pre Dinner Savouries & Drinks
7.30 pm

Conference Awards Dinner Sponsored by ITT Water & Wastewater

Award Presentations

• Presentation of Actizyme Prizes for “Best paper by WIOA Members”

• Presentation of Hepburn & Iwaki Prizes for “Best Paper Overall”

• Presentation of WITC Prize for “Best Operator Poster Paper”

• Presentation of “Operator of the Year” as judged by AWA (Vic)

• Presentation of “Young Operator of Year” as judged by IWA (Vic)

Entertainment by Scared Weird Little Guys

11.30 pm End of Conference


Delegates are responsible for booking their own accommodation.  Motel bookings can be made by contacting Tourism Bendigo on their toll free number: 1800 813 153 or visit www.bendigotourism.com

Courtesy buses will be provided for delegates and exhibitors for the two dinners only.  There are many other hotels within Bendigo other than those listed below.  If the hotels below are fully booked, delegates and exhibitors can make their way to the closest hotel on the bus route.  Courtesy buses will also return to the hotels at the end of each evening.

Allara Motor Inn
Alexandra Place
All Seasons & Golden Reef Motel
Barclay on View
Bendigo Colonial
Bendigo Motor Inn
Calder Motel
Cathedral Motor Inn
Central Deborah Motor Inn & National Hotel
Elm Motel
Goldfields Motor Inn
Haymarket Motel ( Brian Boru )

Heritage Motor Inn

Homestead Motor Inn
Julie Anna
Lake View
McIvor Motor Inn
Oval Motel
Quest Apartments
Sandhurst Motor Inn
Tea House
Welcome Stranger


Last updated on 22-Mar-2013

2008 WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us