HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
2009 Conference


CONFERENCE NOW COMPLETED; keep an eye on this site for information on our 2010 event.

Vic Conference Photo Gallery

To visit the photo gallery for the Victorian conference please click on the image below [external site].


Preliminary Program - please note program subject to change

Download the rego form: pdfVIC DELEGATE REGO FORM (pdf 302 kb)

Courtesy buses will be provided for the two dinners only.  Click here to view the list of hotels on the bus route.


Bendigo Exhibition Centre, Prince of Wales Showgrounds, Holmes Road, Bendigo



Tuesday 1 September, 2009

  Conference venue closed for exhibition set up
1.00 pm Booths and Registration Desk Open for Trade Exhibitors
4.00 pm Registration Desk Open for Delegates
5.00 pm  Welcome Reception- Drinks and Nibbles
6.30 pm Venue closed
Wednesday 2 September, 2009
8.00 am Registration Desk Open
9.00 am

Trade Exhibition Open

Conference Opening

Welcome: Mr Graham Thomson, Barwon Water

Opening Address: Mr Ross Young – Executive Director, WSAA

Keynote Address: Mr David Sheehan, Program Manager - Drinking Water Regulation, DHS Victoria - “Development of Competency-Based Standards for Water Treatment Operators”

Mr George Wall, Executive Officer WIOA, - “Towards Operator Certification”

Trade Display Opening: Mr Ron Bergmeier, WIOA Chairman

10.20 am Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Morning Tea
11.20 am

Technical Paper Session 1

WIOA Report: Ms Cynthia Lim – (WIOA Operations Manager)

Mr Duncan Wallis (RM Consulting Group)
- “Reticulated Recycled Water Schemes – Getting Them off the Ground.”

Mr Gareth Knight (United Water)
- “Thermal Drying of Biosolids at Ballarat North Water Reclamation Plant”
Mr Chris Brace (Yarra Valley Water)
- “In-house Class A validation ”

12.20 pm Lunch
1.30 pm

Technical Paper Session 2

Mr Greg Comer – (Goulburn Valley Water)
- "The Five Day Challenge"
Mr Bill Mackrell - (Wannon Water)
- "Supernatant Return Terang WTP"
Mr John Granzien – (SEQ Water)
- Best Op Paper Qld Workshop 2009 –“Transition--- Inheritance---Future"
Mr Ben Van Zeyl – (Veolia Water Australia)
-"Introduction of new water sources to Bendigo – A brief history of the water you showered in this morning”

2.30 pm Afternoon tea, View Trade Exhibition & Competition
3.40 pm

Technical Paper Session 3

Mr Clint Vandepeer & Mr Steve Pritchard – (Yarra Valley Water)
- “Process Modelling and Ammonia Online Metering at Healesville STP"
Mr Frank Murphy – (Yarra Valley Water)
– “Methanol Dosing Trial for Enhanced Denitrification at Lilydale STP"
Mr Geoffrey Frost – (Parsons Brinckerhoff Australia)
- "A New Membrane Filtration Plant for Girgarre"
Mr Gwyn Hatton – (Barwon Water)
- "Aquifer Storage & Recovery – A New Resource"

5:00 pm End Paper Sessions - Day 1
6.30 pm Pre Dinner Savouries & Drinks
7.30 pm Meet the Trade Dinner & entertainment by Ms Lauren Burns
10.30 pm End Day One

Thursday 3 September, 2009

8.30 am Registration Desk Open
8.45 am

Trade Exhibition Open

9.00 am

Technical Paper Session 4

Ms Anita Johnstone – (Yarra Valley Water)
- “Best Practice Water Fault Management"
Mr John McCoy – (Bartlett’s Waste Management)
- " Innovative sewer blockage management techniques; the benefits, greater impact and better outcomes"
Ms Lisa Brown - (Parsons Brinckerhoff Australia)
- "Optimise Tank Design Using CFD"
Mr Steve Webb – ('us' - Utility Services)
- " Hydrant Water for Mobile Tankers – A Solution”

10.20 am Trade Display Inspections, Competition plus morning tea
12.20 pm Lunch
1.10 pm

Poster Paper Session

Operator Poster Papers Submitted for Judging:

- “Ammonia Dosing Terang WTP”
Mr Bill Mackrell - Wannon Water

- “Monitoring and Control of Manganese in a Variable Water Source”
Mr Len Monti - Campaspe Asset Management Services / Coliban Water

 - “Tatura WMF – HRAL Cover Repair”
Mr Mark Oliver – Goulburn Valley Water

- “The New Girgarre UFT Water Treatment Plant – Delivering desired Outcomes with the use of Project Teams”
Mr Neil Healey – Goulburn Valley Water

- “Understanding the Impact of Environmental Flows on our Rivers and Streams”
Mr Peter Tolsher - Environmental Group Limited

- “Cost Saving Coagulant Comparisons at Lorne Water Treatment Plant”
Mr Sean Doyle – Barwon Water

- “Enhancing an Anaerobic Process”
Mr Peter Jackson – Goulburn Valley Water

Open Poster Papers:
- “Simple Booster Chlorination Installation”
Mr Ashley Elliott - Campaspe Asset Management Services / Coliban Water

2.10 pm

Technical Paper Session 6

Mr Bruce Anderson – (Goulburn Valley Water)
- "Lessons for the Water Industry from the Black Saturday Fires"
Mr David Greaves – (Barwon Water)
- "Biosolids Belt pressing - The trials and tribulations of seeking better performance"

Mr Wayne Morling – (Govt Skills Australia)
- "The National Learning Resources Development Project"

3.10pm Presentation of Certificates in Water Industry Operations
3.25 pm Trade Display Inspections, Competition plus Afternoon tea
4.00 pm

Technical Paper Session 7

Mr Bert Pynappels – (GWMWater)
- "Natimuk Potable Water Supply: Lateral Thinking and Operator Input equals $4M saved"

Mr Tim Giffin – (Campaspe Asset Mgmt Services)
- "ATAD Process for the Treatment of Biosolids for Beneficial Re-use"
Mr John Day – (Goulburn Valley Water)
- "Choosing the Right Online Fluoride Analyzer"

5:00 pm Close of Paper Sessions
6.30 pm Pre Dinner Savouries & Drinks
7.30 pm Conference Awards Dinner & entertainment by Mr Danny McMaster
11.30 pm End of Conference

Courtesy buses will be provided for delegates and exhibitors for the two dinners only.  There are many other hotels within Bendigo other than those listed below.  If the hotels below are fully booked, delegates and exhibitors can make their way to the closest hotel on the bus route.  Courtesy buses will also return to the hotels at the end of each evening.

  • Allara Motor Inn
  • Heritage Motor Inn
  • Alexandra Place
  • Homestead Motor Inn
  • All Seasons
  • Julie Anna
  • Barclay on View
  • Lake View
  • Bendigo Colonial
  • McIvor Motor Inn
  • Bendigo Motor Inn
  • Oval Motel
  • Calder Motel
  • Quest Apartments
  • Cathedral Motor Inn
  • Sandhurst Motor Inn
  • Central Deborah Motor Inn & National Hotel
  • Shamrock
  • Elm Motel
  • Tea House
  • Goldfields Motor Inn
  • Welcome Stranger
  • Haymarket Motel (Brian Boru)





Last updated on 22-Mar-2013

2008 WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us