HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
2008 Conference

71st Annual Victorian Water Industry Engineers and Operators Conference

2nd to 4th September 2008

Preliminary Technical Program

Bendigo Exhibition Centre, Prince of Wales Showgrounds, Holmes Road, Bendigo

pdfDOWNLOAD Vic Delegate Rego Form (773KB pdf)


12.00 pm Booths and Registration Desk Open for Trade Exhibitors
4.00 pm Registration Desk Open for Delegates
5.00 pm - 6.30 pm Welcome Reception - Drinks and Nibbles


8.15 am Registration Desk Opens
8.45 am Trade Exhibitors Meeting
9.00 am

Conference Opening
Mr Frank Placko, General Manager Environmental Group (Operations)
Opening Address: Mr Terry A'Hearn, EPA Victoria
Keynote Address : Mr Steve Posselt,
In Search of the Truth: an Epic Journey Down Our Greatest River System
WIOA Report: Mr George Wall - WIOA
Trade Display Opening: Mr Ron Bergmeier - WIOA

10.20 am Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Morning Tea
11.20 am

Technical Paper Session 1
Mr Daniel Ellis
- Melbourne Water: "Managing Community Water Supplies During Recharge of the Yarra Valley Conduit"

Mr Russell Mack - Gippsland Water: "A Creepy Solution to Sludge Thickening"

Mr Jean-Marc Laurillard - ABS Wastewater Technology: "The HST Compressor"

12.20 Lunch
1.30 pm

Technical Paper Session 2
Ms Audrey Walewijk & Mr Richard Carty
- Melbourne Water: "The Sugarloaf Pipeline Project: Preparing the Winneke Water Treatment Plant for an Increase in Treatment Capacity"

Mr Rex Humphries - North East Water: "Implementation of Temporary Water Filtration at Bright"

Mr David Errey - Yarra Valley Water: "Sewer Response Unit (SRU)"

2.30 pm Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Afternoon Tea
3.40 pm

Technical Paper Session 3
Mr Charlie Crews - Matamata/ Piako District Council NZ: "Upgrade of the Morrinsville Water Treatment Plant"

Mr Andrew Neil & Mr Rodney Dedman - Dept Human Services (Vic): "Water Fluoridation in Victoria"

Mr John Stevens - Hunter Water Australia: "Cleaning of Diffusers at Edgeworth WWTP"

Mr Bob McAlister - Yarra Valley Water : "Craigieburn Treatment Plant Media Filtration Trial"

5.00 pm End Paper Session
6.30 pm Pre dinner savouries and drinks
7.30 pm

"Meet the Trade" Dinner
Award Presentation

  • Presentation of the 2008 Kwatye Prize

Entertainment by Mr Peter Dee

10.30 pm Close of day one


8.30 am Registration Desk Opens
8.45 am Exhibition Opens
9.00 am

Technical Paper Session 4
Mr Graham Thomson
- Barwon Water: "2007 Kwatye Prize Report"

Mr Craig Griggs - Kingborough Council (Tas): "Case Study Bio Augmentation of Dru Point Wastewater Lagoon at Margate"

Mr Kriston Nilsson - North East Water: "Fluoride Laboratory Test Method Challenges at Wangaratta WTP"

Ms Prue Madsen - Govt Skills Australia: "Continuous Improvement in the Water Training Package"

10.20 am Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Morning Tea
11.20 am

Technical Paper Session 5
Mr Stephen Will
- Sunshine Coast Water: "Kawana STP Upgrade Issues...…Unplugged!!"

Mr Matt Beattie & Mr Wayne Murdoch - Campaspe Asset Management Services (CAMS): "Greening Bendigo – Class A+ water production from Bendigo’s Recycled Water Factory"

12.00 pm Lunch
1.00 pm Judging of "Operator Poster Papers" in Poster Area
2.10 pm

Technical Paper Session 6

Mr Pat Davis - Riverina Water County Council: "Establishing Water Quality in New Distribution Systems"

Ms Li Lern Lau - SMEC Australia: "Filter Refurbishment at Pyramid Hill Water Treatment Plant"

2.50 pm Presentation of Certificates in Water Industry Operations
3.00 pm Trade Exhibition Viewing, Competition & Afternoon Tea
3.40 pm

Technical Paper Session 7
Mr Ryan McGowan - Goulburn Valley Water: "Ampla - Turning SCADA data into information"

Ms Susan Crosher - South East Water: "Taking guesswork out of using sludge lagoons and drying pans to process sewage sludge "

Mr David Brownbill - Campaspe Asset Management Services (CAMS): "Unblocking Sewers – The Smart Way"

Mr Matthew Thompson - United Water: "Drought-induced Treatment Challenges at White Swan Water Treatment Plant

5.00 pm Close of Paper Sessions
6.30 pm

Pre Dinner Savouries and Drinks
Announcement of all trade competition winners

7.30 pm

Conference Dinner
Award Presentations

  • Presentation of Hepburn & Iwaki Pumps Prize for “Best Paper Overall”
  • Presentation of Actizyme Prize for “Best paper by WIOA Member”
  • Presentation of WITC Prize for “Best Operator Poster Paper”
  • Presentation of “Victorian Operator of the Year” as judged by AWA.
  • Presentation of “Young Operator of the Year” as judged by IWA (Vic).

Entertainment by Mr Kenny Graham

11.30 pm Close of Conference

Last updated on 22-Mar-2013

2008 WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us