HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Victorian Operator of the Year

Wal Whiteside Award

Sponsored by AWA Victorian Branch

This is one of the most prestigious award on offer at the Victorian conference with the award presented continuously since 1980. The award is presented to operators of water or wastewater treatment facilities to recognise excellent performance, initiative and all round attention to detail.


Nominations are sought annually from Water Authorities and water companies throughout Victoria for operators who meet the following criteria:

  • Nominees should be working in Victoria and should have direct responsibility for operational decisions at community water, sewer or recycled water systems / networks and/or water, wastewater or recycled water treatment plants or industrial water or wastewater plants.
  • Nominees should have demonstrated a continued high level of performance, initiative and all round attention to detail in the execution of their duties.

Sumbitting your nomination

Nominations should be submitted electronically in Word or PDF format. They must include the following information:  

  • A completed nomination form  Please refer to the guidelines before submitting your nomination.
  • An executive summary outlining the main reason for the nomination (maximum 500 words)
  • Detailed information introducing the nominee and addressing the criteria (maximum 4 A4 pages)
  • Photo (jpg or similar format)
  • Biography (minimum 180 words, maximum 300 words)
  • Two letters of reference

The completed applications are judged by AWA and the winner of the Victorian Operator of the Year Award is announced at the WIOA Conference Awards Dinner annually.  The winner receives a perpetual trophy for his or her organisation to keep for 12 months plus a personal trophy to keep.

Wal Whiteside Award Honour Roll

About Wal Whiteside - Click here for more information.

Year Conference Venue Wal Whiteside
Victorian Operator of the Year
2016 BENDIGO Rylee Duffus
2015 BENDIGO Steve Letcher
2014 BENDIGO Colin Mynott
2013 BENDIGO Stephen O'Keeffe
2012 BENDIGO Nick Stuart
2011 BENDIGO Greg Comer
2010 BENDIGO John De Boer
2009 BENDIGO Steve Hunter
2008 BENDIGO Jeff Roscoe
2007 BENDIGO Owen Roberts
2006 BENDIGO Rod Curtis
2005 BENDIGO Simon McCracken
WODONGA Peter Tolsher
2003 SHEPPARTON Gerrard Barry
2002 GEELONG Paul Keating
2001 BENDIGO Roland Passuello
2000 WARRNAMBOOL Neil Healey
1999 WODONGA Russell Mack
1998 SHEPPARTON George Wall
1997 BAIRNSDALE Ray Crilly
1996 GEELONG Sean Meehan/Phil Keady
1995 MULWALA Barry Waddell
1994 MELBOURNE Colin Sandeman
1993 BALLARAT John Harris
1992 BENDIGO Wayne Murdoch
1991 SALE B.Cook
1990 HAMIILTON Mark Closter
1989 SHEPPARTON Peter Waddell
1987 RINGWOOD John Phyland
1986 WODONGA T.Hanna
1985 SWAN HILL Len Morris
1984 BAIRNSDALE C.D'Herville
1983 MELTON L.Wyhoon
1982 Mt ELISA R.Emmet/E.Jones
1981 MILDURA Sue Lefevre
1980 GEELONG Stan Franzi

Last updated on 30-Jun-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us