HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Young Operator of the Year - Queensland

Sponsored by Queensland Water Directorate (qldwater)

The Queensland Water Directorate is a membership body for Water Service Providers across the state. qldwater is working in partnership with WIOA to expand its Queensland membership, promote qldwater skilling programs and build the WIOA Queensland conference into one of the most significant events on the water industry calendar.

The award introduced in 2010, aims to provide encouragement to young water industry employees, to recognise excellent performance, initiative and all round attention to detail.

qldwater invites all Councils and Water Authorities within Queensland to nominate “operations staff” to be considered for the Award.

To be eligible for consideration the nominees must:

• be employed in the Queensland water industry and be aged under 30 yrs
• have been employed in the water industry for less than 4 years
• be responsible for operating community water and wastewater treatment plants/ or

   industrial water or wastewater plants, operation and maintenance or construction of water

   and wastewater reticulation networks etc.

Nominations are judged on the basis of submissions from employers covering:

1. Commitment to and demonstrating a strong OHS ethic in all work performed
2. Commitment to undertaking training and then implementation of skills learned into the

3. Commitment to team work and following enterprise SOP’s etc
4. Commitment to meeting Council/Authority and regulatory requirements in the course of all

5. Demonstrated use of initiative or suggestions leading to efficiency or safety improvements
6. Any other relevant industry based achievements.

The completed applications are judged by an independent panel the winner is announced at the Awards Dinner at the WIOA Conference annually. The winner receives a perpetual trophy for his or her organisation to keep for 12 months, a personal trophy to keep permanently and a sponsored professional development trip.

QLD Young Operator of the Year Nomination Form (Word)

Young Operator of the Year Honour Roll - Queensland


Year Venue Young Operator of the Year
2017 Logan Harry Coleman 
2016 Rockhampton Ben Pennell 
2015 Toowoomba Geoffrey Johnson 
2014 Logan Sarah Walton
2013 Gold Coast Tyren Cavanagh
2012 Gold Coast Tammy Beddow
2011 Toowoomba Cameron Ansell
2010 Rockhampton Robyn Hoole



Last updated on 28-Jun-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us