HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Best Operator Platform Paper Queensland

NalcoSponsored by Nalco Water


Thanks to the generous support of Nalco - an Ecolab company this award is now awarded at the Victorian, Queensland and New South Wales events annually. The prize is offered as an incentive to encourage “grass roots” operational staff to share their knowledge and experience. To be eligible, the author must NOT hold a tertiary (Bachelor level) qualification.

WIOA selects a number of judges at each conference who watch all the presentations made over the two days. They score each of the eligible papers based on:

  • The content and layout of the written paper;
  • The originality of the ideas portrayed;
  • The use of visual aids during the presentation;
  • The verbal presentation and whether or not the author sticks to the allotted time; and
  • The demeanor of the presenter including how well they answer any questions.

At the completion of the paper sessions, the scores are tallied and the winners determined. The prizes are:

1st Place:   $1,000
2nd Place : $   500
3rd Place:   $   250

In addition, WIOA arranges a plaque and an all expenses paid trip for the winner to perform their paper at another “operations” conference within Australia.

It should be noted that the award has a much longer association with the Qld Workshop, but details of previous winners are not available.


Nalco Water Honour Roll - Queensland

Year First Second Third

Marcus Boyd
Toowoomba RC

Martin Coromandel Queensland Urban Utilities 

Andrew Watson
South Burnett RC


Gary Fenwick
Queensland Urban Utilities

James Castle

Aron Smith & Peter Wallace Cairns Regional Council


Sally-Ann Storey
Toowoomba RC

Glenn Carrol &
Matthew Ball

Geoffrey Johnson
Richmond SC


James Castle

William Smith
Logan City Council

Peter Kirchman
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Community


James Coonan
Toowoomba RC

Todd Chapman
City of Gold Coast

William Smith
Logan CC


Col Kirkegaard
& Alistair Cumming

Banana Shire Council

Joel Warnes

Allconnex Water

Kym Kneebone

Bundaberg RC


Marcus Boyd

Toowoomba RC

Martin Schelberg

Toowoomba RC

John Granzien

SEQ Water


Nev Brown

Fitzroy River Water

Martin Hindmarsh

Allconnex Water

Denis Maguire



John Granzien

SEQ Water

Ian Johnson

Gold Coast Water

Sam Magill

Aqualift Pacific


Stephen Will

Sunshine Coast Water

George Bellizia

Veolia Water

Paul Rogers

Gold Coast Water


Keith Nicholle
Bundaberg CC
& Graham Campbell Camreay Holdings

Marcus Boyd

Toowoomba CC

William Smith

Logan CC


Shane Bandiera

Johnstone SC

David Karrol

Western Bay of Plenty NZ

Graham Edwards

Wide Bay Water


Last updated on 28-Jun-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us