HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Operator of the Year (Civil Works) - Queensland

Sponsored by Queensland Water Directorate (qldwater)

The Queensland Water Directorate is a membership body for Water Service Providers across the state. qldwater is working in partnership with WIOA to expand its Queensland membership, promote qldwater skilling programs and build the WIOA Queensland conference into one of the most significant events on the water industry calendar.

The award, introduced in 2010, aims to provide encouragement to water industry employees employed in the civil construction/maintenance areas of the water industry to recognise excellent performance, initiative and all round attention to detail.

qldwater sends a letter to all Councils and Water Authorities within Queensland, requesting they nominate “operations staff” to be considered for the Award.

The criteria for the determination of the winner is: Nominees should be employed in Queensland and should have direct responsibility for the operation and maintenance or construction of water and wastewater reticulation networks.

The following features are taken into account in considering worthy recipients:

1. Continuing education/training achievement;
2. Overall plant or system management and condition;
3. Demonstrated attention to Occupational Health and Safety and other regulatory

4. Initiative and innovation, demonstrating improved efficiency.

The completed applications are judged by an independent panel the winner is announced at the Awards Dinner at the WIOA Workshop annually.

The winner receives a perpetual trophy for his or her organisation to keep for 12 months, a personal trophy to keep permanently and a sponsored professional development trip.

QLD Operator of the Year (Civil/All Rounder) Nomination Form (Word)

Operator of the Year (Civil / All Rounder) Honour Roll - Queensland


Year Venue

Operator of the Year
(Civil / All Rounder)

2017 Logan Glenn Cook
2016 Rockhampton Kent Weeden & Matthew Weeks
2015 Toowoomba Grahame Dunstan
2014 Logan Matthew Cook
2013 Gold Coast Jason Vade
2012 Gold Coast Ashley Reidy
2011 Toowoomba

Brendon Schutz

2010 Rockhampton Col Kirkegaard

Last updated on 28-Jun-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us