HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Best Operator Platform Paper NSW Conference

NalcoSponsored by Nalco Water


Thanks to the generous support of Nalco Water this award is now awarded at the Victorian, Queensland and New South Wales events annually. The prize is offered as an incentive to encourage “grass roots” operational staff to share their knowledge and experience. To be eligible, the author must NOT hold a tertiary (Bachelor level) qualification.

WIOA selects a number of judges at each conference who watch all the presentations made over the two days. They score each of the eligible papers based on:

  • The content and layout of the written paper;
  • The originality of the ideas portrayed;
  • The use of visual aids during the presentation;
  • The verbal presentation and whether or not the author sticks to the allotted time; and
  • The demeanor of the presenter including how well they answer any questions.

At the completion of the paper sessions, the scores are tallied and the winners determined. The prizes are:

1st Place:  $1,000
2nd Place: $ 500
3rd Place:  $ 250

In addition, WIOA arranges a plaque and an all expenses paid trip for the winner to perform their paper at another “operations” conference within Australia.

Honour Roll - NSW Platform Papers

Year First Second Third

Brock Stone
Gunnedah Shire Council

Shane Dyson & Eric Nielsen Icon Water

Danny Roberts
Port Macquarie Hastings Council


Paul Gregg
Cowra Shire Council

Nathan Bakewell
MidCoast Water

Benjamin Freeman
Port Macquarie-Hastings Council


Kim Sheree
Veolia Water 

Bob Palmer
Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Craig Stone
MidCoast Water


Terry Randall
Port Macquarie Hastings Council

Luke Stitt

Danny Roberts
& Scott Bradshaw

Port Macquarie Hastings Councill


Leigh Trevaskis
Riverina Water County Council

Chris Carlon
Wingecarribee Council

Wes Trotter


Micheal Summerell

Junee Shire

Glenn Clifford

Dubbo City Council

Danny Roberts

Port Macquarie Hastings Councill


Graeme Berriman

Gosford City Council

Brenden Bates

Riverina Water County Council

Robert Palmer & Ken Barker

Port-Macquarie-Hastings Council


Steve Glennan

Shoalhaven Water

Bob Banning

Bathurst Regional Council

Pat Davis

Riverina Water


Peter Outtrim

Riverina Water County Counci

Lindsay Walsh

MidCoast Water

John Day

Goulburn Valley Water


John Stevens

Hunter Water

Pat Davis

Riverina Water County Council

Shaun Clews & Justin Watts

Hunter Water


Chris Carlon

Wingecarribbee Shire Council

John Stevens

Hunter Water

Peter Outtrim

Riverina Water


Last updated on 10-Apr-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us