HomeAbout UsPast Conferences & PapersMembershipOperator ResourcespositionspublicationsWater Industry Links
National Awards

Victorian Awards

Queensland Awards

NSW Awards

Tasmanian Awards

SA Awards

Operator of the Year - New South Wales

NSW AwardAbout the Award

This is the most prestigious award presented at WIOA NSW conference annually. The award is presented to operators of water or wastewater treatment facilities to recognise excellent performance, initiative and all round attention to detail.

The NSW Water Directorate as award sponsor sends a letter to all Council and Water Authority CEO’s annually requesting nominations of “operations staff” to be considered for the Award.

The criteria for the determination of the winner is as follows:

Nominees should be employed in New South Wales and should have direct responsibility for operational decisions at community water and wastewater treatment plants/ or industrial water or wastewater plants.

The following features are taken into account in considering worthy recipients:

  1. Continuing education/training achievement;
  2. Overall plant or system management and condition;
  3. Demonstrated attention to Occupational Health and Safety and other regulatory responsibilities;
  4. Initiative and innovation, demonstrating improved treatment and efficiency

The completed applications are judged by an independent panel and the winner of the Water Directorate NSW Operator of the Year Award is announced at the Awards Dinner at the WIOA NSW conference annually.  The winner receives a perpetual trophy for his or her organisation to keep for 12 months plus a personal trophy to keep permanently.  The winner also receives a trip to New Zealand to join a study tour and participate in the WIOG NZ conference.

New South Wales Operator of the Year - Honour Roll

2017 Canberra Shane Kimber Shoalhaven Waterl
2016 Newcastle Mark Gogola Orange City Council
2015 Orange Glen Clifford Dubbo City Council
2014 Orange Todd Pattison Wyong Shire Council
2013 Canberra Neville Woodward Coffs Harbour City Council
2012 Tamworth Erwin Balsar Shoalhaven City Council
2011 Newcastle Allen Paul

Clarence Valley Council

2010 Bathurst Les Potter

Coffs Harbour Council

2009 Tamworth

Ross Waugh

Coffs Harbour Council
2008 Newcastle

Peter Hale

2007 Dubbo

Pat Welsh



Last updated on 10-Apr-2017

WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us