Victorian Water Taste Test





76th Annual Victorian
Water Industry Operations Conference and Exhibition

Bendigo 4 & 5 September 2013
Bendigo Exhibition Centre, Holmes Road Bendigo

Over 1300 individuals attended the 76th Victorian Water Industry Operations Conference and Exhibition held by the Water Industry Operators Association’s (WIOA).  This important water industry event was held on 4 & 5 September2013 at the Bendigo Exhibition Centre. Delegates were officially welcome by Managing Director of Goulburn Valley Water, Mr Peter Quinn on behalf of the conference hosts. Mr Marcus Crudden from the Essential Services Commission provided the opening address and Dr Karl Braganza from the Bureau of Meteorology enthralled delegates with his keynote presentation on climate monitoring and some of the data that he was able to provide

The event concluded with the official awards ceremony, which saw Stephen O’Keeffe from Goulburn Valley Water win the prestigious Wal Whiteside Award as the 2013 Victorian Operator of the Year.

A comprehensive exhibition with over 182 exhibition sites saw companies exhibit the latest in equipment, services and process technologies available to the water, wastewater and liquid conveyancing industries. The winner of the Ron Bergmeier Award for best exhibition site was EcoCatalysts.

VideoCheck out some of our photos of the 2013 event

Congratulations to all the 2013 Victorian Award Winners

Victorian Operator of the Year (Wal Whiteside Award, sponsored by AWA)
Stephen O’Keeffe from Goulburn Valley Water

Victorian Young Operator of the Year (sponsored by Institute of Water Administration, Vic.)
Aaron Mitchell from East Gippsland Water

Best Paper Overall (Hepburn Prize, sponsored by Iwaki Pumps Australia)
Catherine Huf from Wannon Water

Best Paper by an Operator (sponsored by Ecolab)
1st Jarrah Feather from East Gippsland Water
2nd Peter Murphy from Yarra Valley Water
3rd Daniel Haworth from Tenix

Best Poster (sponsored by Water Industry Training Centre)
1st Ben Marsden from Wannon Water
2nd Rylee Duffus from Gippsland Water
3rd Adam Bauerle from Goulburn Valley Water

Best Exhibition Site (Ron Bergmeier Award, sponsored by WME)

2013 Orica Victorian Water Taste Test
East Gippsland Water

2013 Orica Victorian Water Taste Test Finalists

  • East Gippsland Water
  • Lower Murray Water
  • Mt Hotham Resort
  • South Gippsland Water

Kwatye (Water) Prize (sponsored by Thermo Fisher Scientific)
Mick Clewes from North East Water


2013 Exhibitors


AAP Industries
ABB Australia
Acromet Australia
Activated Carbon Technologies
ADC Plastics
ADS Environmental Services
AIM Water
AGFAB Engineering
International Paint
AquaManage Group
Lonza Mircobial Control
Australian Drain & Pipe Repairs
Australian Water Engineers
Automation Group
Australian Water & Irrigation Solutions
AWMA Water Control Solutions
AWT Water
Baccara Automation Control
Barron - Auma Australia
Becker Pumps Australia
Bermad Water Technologies
The BFA Group
Bilfinger Water Technologies
BR Controls
Burkert Australia
CAPS Australia
Challenger Valves
Omega Chemicals
Clearwater Lakes & Ponds
Compressors Australia
CRS Industrial Water Treatment
CSE - Semaphore
CST Wastewater Solutions
DCM Process Control
Dwyer Instruments
East West Dive & Salvage

Emerson Process Management
Enviro Now
Epsom Environmental Services
Energy Control & Automation
Franklin Electric
Grundfos Pumps
H20 RX / Chemical System Consulting
Hach Pacific
Hanna Instruments
Honeywell Safety Products
H-R Products
Hurll Nu-Way
Hydro Innovations
International Chemicals Engineering
Invensys Operations Management
Iwaki Pumps Australia
Kembla Watertech
Krohne Australia
KSB Australia
Life & Rescue International
Lincoln Sewer Science
Liquid Controls (Australia)
Maric Flow Control
McCullochs Hydraulic Engineers
McElligott Partners
Merck Millipore
Metaval Consolidated
Miri Technologies
MJK Automation
Pump Industry Magazine
NOV Mono
Aqualift Pacific
Nordical Diving
Norma Group
Odour Control Systems (Australia)

Odour Technologies
Orica Chemicals
Pacific Laboratory Products
Parchem Construction Supplies
Peerless Epigen
Pentair Environmental
Complete Tapping Service/Derwent Industries
PPD Air Pumps
PRJ Australia
Process Control Services
Prochem Pipeline Products
ProMinent Fluid Controls
Pryde Measurement
Regal Australia
Repipe Connection
Rockwell Automation
Rotek Australia
Rotor Tech Developments
Rotork Australia
Royce Water Technologies
Safety Results
Safety Systems
Schneider Electric
Sikla Systems Australia
Teco Australia
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Total Eden
Total Flow Control
Wattyl Industrial Coatings
Veolia Water
VoR Environmental
WAM Australia
Water Equipment Plus
Water Industry Training Centre
Wilo Australia
Wise Waste Solutions



2013 Prime Sponsors

major Sponsors

Automation Group Xylem Epigen Acromet WME 2013 Hosts

major Sponsors

VicWater Goulburn Murray Water Goulburn Valley Water AWA

wwwVisit the Bendigo Exhibition Centre Website


Last updated on 01-May-2014


WIOA - Water Industry Operators Association of Australia | privacy | contact us